The Dangers and Delights of Public Transportation

I love jeepneys, buses or trains no matter how smelly, crowded, filthy or run down they may be.

What’s my favorite public utility vehicle? The jeepney of course!

Oh the Philippine Jeepney or the “Dyipni”, painted with colorful, personal or miscellaneous artwork and blasting out of its speakers is loud and obnoxious music noise as it carelessly race through the streets of Manila suddenly stopping at any moment, at any corner for passengers, it’s quite a sight.

Climbing in a jeep, squeezing your arse in the small space between complete strangers and trusting them with your fare as they pass it to the jeepney driver – it’s an experience that completely obliterates your personal space.

Then there is the danger of getting in a vehicular accident, getting robbed by someone cutting through your pants for your mobile phone (unsuccessful attempt) and high probability of getting gum on your pants and sitting next to someone sweaty, smelly and maybe insane.

Exhibit A.

My everyday jeepney to school is Cubao-Divisoria. I’ve ridden jeepneys hundreds of times and I’ve been riding on this route for a year now. After our last graduation practice, I hopped on a jeepney home. The man beside me used a really sharp blade to cut through my pocket (which also cut through my phone’s casing, yes it’s that sharp) without me even feeling a thing. He was quick and quiet. Luckily, I noticed and was able to get my phone and got home safely. Although I walked home with a big hole on my jeans. Hahaha.

So what’s there to love?

Well…

It’s easy to find a jeep to ride on in Manila. The fare is cheap and the ride is entertaining.

Well there is also the interesting stories from interesting people. The weird stories told by weird people. Basically, it’s the people you ride with that makes getting on the jeepney worth while. Hehehe

Maybe for most Filipinos, jeepney’s are more of a bane. I’d be a hypocrite if I didn’t admit that there are times that going on a jeepney during a hot summer day or  rainy day makes me cringe and want to take a taxi even though I’m going somewhere near.

But despite it’s downsides, hop on a jeepney. More often than not, you’ll go down with a story to tell. 🙂

Leave a Reply

