QS World MBA Tour in Manila

A few months ago, I received an invitation to the QS World MBA Tour in Manila. I had no idea what was it really about but I registered anyway. A bit of research gave me the general idea that it’s like a job fair except it’s for MBA/Graduate schools and not jobs.

I invited my friend Grace to the event and sure enough she did come with me.

The event was at The Peninsula Manila.

The tour started with a panel discussion composed of Admissions Directors from universities such as Rice, Suffolk, Sydney Business School and UBC Sauder. They discussed MBA admissions: Do’s and Don’ts. They all gave pretty good advice but I specifically remembered one from the Dean of Suffolk University (whose name I couldn’t remember) that really made an impact, she said “Don’t sell yourself short”. 

So when applying for a job, to a school or whatever it is you’re applying for, don’t sell yourself short. You are the product and you should know how to sell yourself.

Other universities such as INSEAD, HULT, Nanyang, IESE etc were represented at the fair. I already have a pending application with HULT so I looked for their booth and saw Lauren. She already interviewed me through phone but it was really nice getting to see her in person.

Grace and I went around the room to check out other schools. There were at least 24 schools that night and we went at each booth. We got their brochures, calling cards and asked a few questions to the admission directors when we got the chance.

At the Suffolk’s booth, we were surprised to see the Dean alone in the table with no brochures. All she had was a couple of calling cards, a sign up sheet and one brochure she was writing on. Turns out a lot of people took her brochures. It wasn’t a mystery why people went to her booth. She was warm and answered all questions clearly and directly.

A crowd started to form around her table as we listened to her explain the procedures and scholarship opportunities available at their school.

So after all the talking and the writing and the going around, standing in high heels, Grace and I left for dinner.

It was an exhilarating experience. It was really a great opportunity to see and meet admission directors from schools and start choosing which school do you see yourself in.

Grace and I went home will a dozen of school brochures, pamphlets and calling cards but only one thing was going through our minds, one thing we were both hoping for – a great future ahead of us.

I have my eyes on Hult.

Leave a Reply

